Thread: '18 Rift Zone

mtbr member
    Jun 2014

'18 Rift Zone

Sort of overlaps the Hawk Hill thread, but I have had mine (went for the 2) for a couple of weeks and really enjoying it. It's my first full squish bike and I am far from an expert rider, but happy to entertain any questions that I can answer.

mtbr member
    Jul 2018
    I am looking to get my first mountain bike, want a full suspension and a solid value. I'm a father of three elementary aged kids, so I don't have a ton of time to ride. I've been riding road on and off for 14 years (I'm 46 and rode a ton as a kid, stopped in my 20s, picked it back up in my 30s. bought my Trek road bike in 2004). Looking to do trail riding in the canyon near my house. Some decent climbs, if I choose to bike to my work which is on the other side of the canyon, and some decent downhills.

All that said, the Marin Rift Zone 2 is intriguing. I test road it and it seems like a solid value. Maybe if you could give a quick overview of your buying decision as well as your experience with the bike thus far. Then maybe we can go from there with other questions. Thanks in advance!

I've been doing a ton of research (way more than I care to admit)

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    Not OP, but I'm in a similar situation as you LargoPQ: mid-40s, aging limbs, kids etc.

With my aging back I realized that the medium bike I was riding was too small and I needed something that fit better. The choice for 29er was based on favorable experiences I had with hard tail 29ers and test rides of full sus 29ers earlier this season. I thought I might be able to transfer parts from my hard tail, but compatibility of parts (thru axle, boost) made this impractical.