Yinding or similar with dynamo hub?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2014

Yinding or similar with dynamo hub?

First off, I'm pretty new to lights and off-road night riding so try not to laugh too hard.

Long story short, I plan on getting a SON dynamo hub eventually so I always have power, but because of budget constraints that's about a year away at best, so I'm looking for something I can use in the meantime.

I've been reading about lots of quality lights that can be run off battery packs and am curious if they can be easily adapted to run off a dynamo hub when the time comes. I'd prefer if I could power the lights off the dynamo directly, but would also be interested if its possible to recharge battery packs from a hub so I wouldn't need to carry an obscene amount for an extended night ride.

I'm currently using USB rechargeable lights from Serfas and Light & Motion which I charge from a Goal Zero Guide 10 solar charger when commuting and touring. A big part of why I like this setup is that it will plug into a dynamo setup down the road so I wont have a bunch of extra stuff to buy or carry.

Can one of the modern battery powered LED setups be adapted to a dynamo/USB powered setup? Any thoughts from people who know what they're talking about?

-Nick

mtbr member
    Not quite answering your question, but have a look at klite's, website. Kerry produces various dynamo and USB driven options. His facebook page has more info too. https://www.facebook.com/kLite.com.au

Tim

RAKC
    I dont know much about dynamo hubs but seems 6v, 3w output give or take hub pending. No where near enough to run a bt21, yinding or anything like that. They run @ minimum about 7v-8.4v and at 2-3A current draw in high. Talking 10W.

Now where and how long are you riding? Ones like nitefighter lights and yindings on low and medium setting can last for a few hours on a charge in a 4 cell pack. Get a quality 6 cell and your talking 8hrs+ on a charge easily.

mtbr member
    Sep 2014