mtbr member

The Ultimate Helmet Light - 4,300 lumes, High CRI, 4000K, and Programmable

I've been using a TrailLED DS since 2015 and have been very happy with the performance Review: Trail LED DS - Mountain Bike Review- Mtbr.com.

I've always wanted slightly warmer LEDs though and after owning several 90+ CRI flashlights, I've wanted the same color rendering in a helmet light. To make that happen, I sent my light to Vinh at https://skylumen.com/ I've been buying modded lights from him for years, so I had no issues trusting him with the expensive TrailLED light.

Before modding, Vinh measured my light at 2,200 lumens. MTBR has tested theirs higher, but measured output can vary between test setups so the important part is the % gain rather than the actual measurement. After the mod, the high mode measured 4,300 lumens. That mode definitely uses more power and generates more heat, but I have the ability to choose from several different output levels depending on the light output and runtime needed.

Mods:
    Replaced LEDs with Samsung LH351D, 4000K, High CRI
    Replaced heatsink with a new solid copper heatsink
    Replaced driver with VNX2 (programmable, more modes, and can turn off strobe. Also has step down that will keep the light on when batteries are low)

I also wanted a bar light to match the modded helmet light, so I had Vinh put the same Samsunag LEDs in an Acebeam EC65. The is basically a wall of very even light, and the color blends seamlessly with the helmet light. I chose this light because it uses the new 5,100 mah 21700 battery.

I'll never use it on the trail, but I should have a combined output now of around 8,000 lumens

Here are a few pictures. Unfortunately they don't really represent what it looks like in person and I just left my phone camera in Auto. The lights are much brighter in person and the colors are very vivid.

The Ultimate Helmet Light - 4,300 lumes, High CRI, 4000K, and Programmable-img_20181009_192927414.jpg