New to Night Riding- Mtbr.com
    lurker 2.0

New to Night Riding

so, aside from strapping a flashlight onto my bike and riding around campsites, i have never actually been night riding . Im just getting into it now, and have a 24h race in 2 months, so i need my practice. Any tips on how not to fail/crash/fataly injure myself? Thanks in advance.
    Death is like pie, you never know when its gonna hit you in the face.

Yes, that's fonetic
    I find that at night with good lights I'm more focused on the trail than during the daytime. Your entire attention is on the tunnel of light ahead of you with no peripheral distractions. You'll be fine but do get in a night ride or 3 before the race to get the feel of it.

Huckin' trails
    Just be sure to always be able to rely on your suspension (if available), because theres a lot of holes and bumps you might not see coming... Even little streams that will simply stop you on you way or slow you down a lot (depend where you ride also) and get you dirty and smelly (life experiences)...

Keep the saddle low and don't be afraid to use your brakes whenever you think so. Camelback will be a good idea and cellphone too, as a toolkit as always. I can't really recommends you to carry an extra air tube, as I never had a flat in my whole life, but others do, so its up to you... anyway, a air tube alone will not work, unless you also have a air pump...

Put your helmet on, turn on the light and enjoy the night !

David
    Quote Originally Posted by NicoleB28 View Post
    topless. that's what all mtb girls do. we go ride, get topless, have pillow fights in the woods, scissor, then ride home!

mtbr member
    I agree with everything these other two guys have said, with the addition of: YOUR LIGHTS ARE THE MOST IMPORTANT PIECE OF EQUIPMENT AT A 24HR RACE. You can get by with old tires, a crappy saddle, a cheapish helmet, etc., but if your lights go out on you during a night loop...well, it is a long walk back to the pits.