Need opinion- Mtbr.com

Thread: Need opinion

mtbr member
    Aug 2018

Need opinion

Hi guys,
    So just picked up my new bike today and they talked me into a Seca Enduro headlight for the bike. 2500 lumens, 300$ and he threw in a bontrager rear flashing red light. This is the first light I have ever seen that has a big battery and a cord. The cord runs from the light about 4 feet maybe less and hooks to a pretty decent sized battery. Honestly not a huge fan of that, but since I am new to mountain biking is this kind of the norm for good lights, or did I just waste my money? Thanks!

Matt

mtbr member
    It's a really good light. Lights with that combination of output and duration need big batteries. It could be more light than you need, or not, depending on how you intend to use it. Many riders will go for two lesser lights, one on the bars and one on the helmet.

Coincidentally, here's a review that just came out today:

https://www.bikeradar.com/reviews/ac...attery-review/
    Do the math.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by mjshaw130 View Post
    Hi guys,
    So just picked up my new bike today and they talked me into a Seca Enduro headlight for the bike. 2500 lumens, 300$ and he threw in a bontrager rear flashing red light. This is the first light I have ever seen that has a big battery and a cord. The cord runs from the light about 4 feet maybe less and hooks to a pretty decent sized battery. Honestly not a huge fan of that, but since I am new to mountain biking is this kind of the norm for good lights, or did I just waste my money? Thanks!

Matt
    The battery and cord layout is normal for a high performance light setup. He gave you an excellent deal on that light as best mail order prices are right at $400 just for the front light. Excellent light IMO and he probably mad little or no profit on it.
    Mole

arc
    mtbr member
    Sep 2004