minimum LED?- Mtbr.com

Thread: minimum LED?

mtbr member
    Jun 2009

minimum LED?

hey all, i'm finally thinking of some night riding after all these years, especially with days starting to get shorter....so i'm a newb - what's the minimum you can get away with in terms of LED?

i was thinking of this 350, given that funds are somewhat limited, but i dont want to get something that doesnt do the job

http://www.rei.com/product/786653

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    Just depends on what you plan on riding, and what speeds.I do like the Cygolite brand as i've owned a TridenX and loved it.But for around the price of the 350 your looking at, you could get an honest 500/600 lumen light from Scar,(amoeba XPG) or Trailled 500L which i believe also uses the XPG leds.These guys know bike lights!!

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    thanks for the insight....very cool. Looking at that Trail LED 500L.

i guess my riding is traditional new england - very woodsy/forrested, single track, roots, rock, reggae.

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    Sounds like the same riding as here in Squamish/Whistler B.C.Good luck on your choice!

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    thanks! would love to ride Whistler some time....man.

what's the best lens configuration - "spot/flood"...."flood/flood?"

thanks

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    Depends on riding style, if you like slower technical terrain i'd go with spot/flood.If you like more of a quick flowey style of single track spot/spot might be best for a little more throw.I haven't seen either lights in action in person so i can't say for sure how much spill you would loose going spot/spot but Amoeba XPG, or Trailled guys could answer those questions much better than myself.

mtbr member
    May 2005
    Depends on personal preference as well. I'm old and kinda slow, but still like a spot beam pattern over a flood. For me, a flood pattern lighting up the trail around me is distracting.

Light freak

My thought on beam pattern and placement....