lighting setup for commuting- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

lighting setup for commuting

Hey everyone,

I'm new to riding in the dark (usually early AM), and as the days grow shorter and shorter, I find myself needing appropriate lighting more and more.

I don't ride trails, so my needs are strictly for commuting. I've read a ton on these forums, but haven't run across an answer to my basic question - what type of light should I purchase? I don't mean brand or power necessarily, I'm more asking about the type/location of the light placement. Should I be looking at bar mounted lights? Helmet mounted?

I'd really appreciate insight on what everyone would recommend for a decent set up. I'm more concerned about safety/function than I am price, but I'd prefer not to break the bank if possible.

mtbr member
    For commuting, you are more interested in being seen versus lighting your way. You don't need a lot of lumens. I think a single front and rear light is fine. Front mounted to bars and the rear to the seatpost or wherever is most visible from the rear. Blinking mode catches the eye better than steady state in my opinion, plus it will make the battery last longer. I like my little USB rechargeable light that I use on the front, and the Planet Bike Blinky 7 for the rear which takes 2xAAA batteries. I use rechargeable AAA batteries for the rear light as well.
    Amazon.com : MetroFlash Ignita Super Bright USB Rechargeable Headlight : Bike Headlights : Sports & Outdoors
    Amazon.com: Planet Bike Blinky "7" 7-Led Rear Bicycle Light

Also wear a neon green vest with reflective stripes.

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    I would stick with one of the all-in-ones such as the Niterider Lumina's or Lezyne power drives. Something that's USB rechargeable so that you can easily charge it at work. I would go for the high-powered lights 400 lumen or more. Supplement that with a rear blinkly/flasher light.