Lighting for path riding?- Mtbr.com
    back in the saddle again

Lighting for path riding?

I am a beginner rider and am thinking about the possibility of riding my local suburban paved paths and local streets at night for when the days are too hot. I'm sorry if this has been asked a billion times already, but what would be good lights for me to use? Is there a specific rating or lumen number I should look for? I want to ensure I'm nice and visible to the cars I may pass along the way, because there are a few spots where there is no designated bike path on the route. I don't think I have a very large budget to work with for this, unfortunately. Thanks for your tips!
    Just a Kitty cruisin' in the Rockies with her Pumpkin (TREK 820)

DrD
    mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    My commute is on a bunch of paved paths as well as roads - I've been using a cygolite dualcross pro for the past few years - it's 310 lumens, and it's plenty bright for that sort of riding. For rearward visibility, get some bright blinker lights - I have two planetbike superflash lights - very bright. Also a good idea to wear reflective clothing and have some reflective stuff on the side of the bike. People are bad at watching for bikes during the day, and it just gets worse when it's dark out

mtbr member
    May 2011
    It all depends how good your night vision is and how fast you like to ride. I have bad night vision, plus I like to ride very fast. 310 lumens would most definitely not do it for me. Double or tripple that is what I need. The other thing is, lumens are pretty cheap these days if all you want are just lumens.

You could start by buying one of those cheapo Magicshines for $79 from dealextreme.com... see how you like it. If down the road you become a serious night rider, you can always upgrade to a better light and use the MS for backup.

mtbr member
    Hi MTBKitty,