Light recommendations for newbie night rider- Mtbr.com
    No Clue Crew
    Apr 2005

Light recommendations for newbie night rider

I'm not a new rider, but feel like a total new when it comes to lights. Man, if any section needs an FAQ, it's this one

Anyway, I live in Phoenix and night-riding is becoming more and more attractive to me and some riding buds. I do have an old Light and Motion Arc setup that I use as a helmet mount. I bought a new battery pack about five years ago, but it's giving up the ghost again (perhaps from sitting around mostly unused in my 130-degree garage).

I want to spend a couple bucks on a new setup, probably two lights (helmet and bar mount) if I'm going to do it right. I've read through a bunch of threads, but I'm not an electrician or a dabbler. I just want stuff that works, strap on and go.

Riding buds mostly used Magic Shine stuff and seem pleased. Any reason not to go that route? Mostly I'm overwhelmed by choice.

I'd like the budget around $200 and would probably order from Amazon unless there's a specific retailer who can get me my stuff by Friday.

Thanks for reading and providing any insight.
    Just like a raindrop, I was born to fall.

mtbr member
    Just go with nightrider or magicshine then. Something USB chargeable and a neutral/natural light. At least 750 lumen. I prefer the option for more, because it usually means they come with better batteries that will last longer on medium setting.

If you just want cheap lights that work, hard to beat the $20 cree knockoff lights. The light is a little blue/white, but it works. Just make sure you get the ~8V versions and not the 4volt versions. Higher voltage ones have better regulators in them. I'm going on over 2 years now on my $20 cree light. Once I got a loose wire figured out last year (dropped the light while battery was still attached to the frame), no problems since.
    "a hundred travel books isn't worth one real trip"

RAKC