A light for all night racing- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2010

A light for all night racing

Over the last 2 years I have done an all night, 14 hour 130 mile canoe race, The first time I did it I used a maglight and a nightrider trailrat combo. we used the maglight for continous use and the trailrat for the bad stuff. the maglight was approx 40 lumens and the nghtrider was around 190 lumens. As you can guess, for 8 hours it was a heavy and not a fun setup.

The next year we borrowed a cygolite TridenX LED Li-Ion X from a friend. It worked awesome. it lasted all night and jacked upto 600 lumens in the bad spots.

Im guessing some of you guys have great experience in night racing. What sorts of lights would you suggest?

The light needs to last at least 7 hours, it needs to run continuously at 100-200 lumens and be able to jump to 400 lumens from time to time.

I am a student so my budget is limited to approx 150$

Some lights I have in mind are...
    fenix tk40

that cygo tridenx I can get it for cost at 130$

A niterider at cost

a magicshine

Could someone buy me something like this for my birthday?

Do you guys have any other suggestions?

Come see me after class
    Dec 2005
    i use a camping/hiking headlamp, retrofitted to my helmet. it's much more usable than a bar-mounted light, because it naturally shines where i'm looking, not where my bars are pointed.

it's the Petzl Myo RXP which has selectable brightness levels up to 140 lumens. (in boost mode it outputs 160 lumens, but you have to hold the button down to use it.)

for <$100 it has comparable output to bike-specific lighting systems, and has greater battery life. it will easily run a few 7hr night races at max output of 140 lumens. it's worth consideration, because the headlamp can also be used for camping, hiking, fishing, wrenching, or anything you need a hands-free light.

mtbr member
    Feb 2006
    Wow, a Magicshine newbie :-)
    http://www.geomangear.com/index.php?...roducts_id=180