Help! Need a light solution for a police bike!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Help! Need a light solution for a police bike!

All,

I'm looking for a relatively unique lighting solution.

I'm a police officer and get to ride at work a good deal of the time. Our bikes are equipped with an ancient incandescent light system that consists of a waterbottle battery, a two-head headlight, LED taillight, and switch. The switch is a three position type that does single beam / off / both beams and the taillight is on whenenver the switch is in the on position.

Police riding requires the ability to quickly enable and disable both the headlight and taillight, and optimally a way to provide low and high power illumination selectively. for example, I may briefly need a dimly lit headlight to check terrain while riding between buildings blacked out, or a full power headlight when riding on busier streets. The taillight also needs to be remotely switched since it's attached to the back of the rear rack and is out of reach of the rider.

So I thought I had a solution in the Magicshine 880, in that it can be turned on to 10% or to 100% directly, but the "glow" feature is potentially an issue. How bright is the "glow" when the light is off? I could technically keep the old taillight, switch, and battery assembly if need be.

Does anybody have any thoughts on the practicality of hacking up the cable between the battery and lighthead on the MJ-880 to install an inline kill switch?

I know this is all on the complicated side, but the lights we have need to go!

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    Hi,

it's a tough joyce. Going the approved way, is going to get you support.
    out in the field, the support is important. Somebody got to sign up for that equipment and
    pay for it, aka department, or at least approve/ bless it.
    the niterider is still a classic...
    NiteRider Bike Lights : Digital Patrol and more for Police
    a new one,
    iFORCE Patrol Bicycles - Catalogue