Headlamp only?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Headlamp only?

mtbr member
    Feb 2015

Headlamp only?

Does anyone ride with a helmet light only? That's my plan, but I've never done night riding before.

mtbr member
    I am currently riding with only a headlamp.
    Amazon.com : Bright Eyes Rechargeable POWERFUL 1200 LUMENS Bike Headlight - 4 NEWLY UPGRADED FEATURES and ADDITIONS (See 2nd image) - FREE TAILLIGHT For Limited Time - WATERPROOF - No Tools - LIFETIME WARRANTY : Bike Headlights : Sports & Outdoors
    It works fairly well, and far better helmet mounted than on the bars. I am riding pretty tight and twisty singletrack. This light has a pretty bright spot which causes me to focus too much on just what is inside the spot. I am riding with it on high for about 2 hours. When I am on wider sections with gentle bends rather than tight turns, this light is prefect.
    I have ordered a Nitefighter BT21 to have two lights with the idea that lighting up a larger area will be an improvement.
    "It never gets easier, you just go faster" Greg LeMond

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    It's probably better to have both, but you can do headlamp only. The bar lights casts shadows that help you identify and judge objects such as roots and rocks. But it's also important to keep a spare light in case your main light breaks. So you might as well put that on your handlebar!

I would also recommend a light that's newer and more capable than the one Smiley linked too. At least get one of the dual emitter lights such as the Yinding, Solarstorm X3, or Nitefighter BT21. They are still pretty cheap.

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    +1^^
    I know several riders using just a headlamp, and each to their own, but considering I have had a lamp go dead mid ride I was glad to have been riding with two. Going pitch black down some black diamond isn't something I want to experience. Two lamps IMO is the way.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by legitposter View Post