First Light Setup - Which Light Helmet/Bars- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2018

First Light Setup - Which Light Helmet/Bars

Hello!

I'm very new to MTB and just started a couple of months before daylight savings time. I can basically only ride at dark after work now (maybe some on the weekends but usually running whitewater then), so I just purchased a light setup.

The general guidance I've seen is to put a more powerful light on the bars and less powerful on the helmet. I purchased a Nightrider Micro 850 for the helmet and RAKC Theia for the bars. Would that be a decent setup and is that how you would set the lights up?

I purchased the Micro 850 as a cost saving measure but it seems like I might be better off sending that back and getting another Theia or something else. With that said, I think this will probably also work for the easy flow trails I'm riding. Thoughts there as well?

Thanks in advance for the help!

RAKC Industries
    Jan 2017
    IMO the micro is going to become annoying because it's low output and short run time. Run into tints conflicting too. Not all bike lights are the same in that regard

The vast majority use cool white (bluish light). The MTS lights are Neutral white some others do as well.

That said there is nothing saying you must get another high powered light. The 850 could simply be used as a back up.

Granted there is several ways you can do it, my may is putting the Theia on the helmet and have the micro on the bars as purely a backup and run the Theia on the helmet.

As long as you have a backup light that's all that matters. Never a good idea to go out with a single light. Beyond that try things out and report back. Each persons taste is different so play around then see if some changes are needed.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    Life on a bike doesn't begin till the sun goes down.

mtbr member
    Feb 2013