Cordless tool battery, can it be used for a bike light?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2014

Cordless tool battery, can it be used for a bike light?

Ok I looked up this question and its has been about 10 years since last asked. Since then a lot has changed, LED's and lithium batteries. So my question can it be done? Can we use a battery from a cordless tool like say a Dewalt 18V and run a bike light? Now I do realize that the average bike light is like 7-8V's so the 18V would fry the light. My thoughts though are for someone like me though. I have lots of these battery because I'm a contractor. If a cheap Chinese is use I could have a great safe bike light for under $20.00. These batteries are safe and the chargers are safe. I would be able to stretch the batteries usefulness beyond just using for work. Anyone want to take this project on?

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    You could probably do it with a voltage converter if you wanted to, but honestly it's pointless. The new batteries are so small and high capacity that anything else is just archaic.

mtbr member
    May 2014
    I agree the batteries I have are the compact ones that are smaller and very light also the capacity is ridiculous when used with the shop light. I have some of those Chinese bomb batteries and I just thought this would be a good alternative.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    Yeah, those ultra cheap batteries are scary. My suggestion is to get a battery made with BAK cells, such as the magicshine or Xeccon batteries , or get one of the Panasonic batteries deals that ledoman has put together

http://forums.mtbr.com/lights-night-...ce-995303.html

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    As said before if cheap chinese lights are to be used then stepdown converter is needed. Some are pretty cheap like 2-3$ on eBay as long as you stay below 2A.