Beginner Trail Riding Night Light- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2015

Beginner Trail Riding Night Light

I am a beginner to trail riding. I just found some good trails near my house and have been having a blast riding. Now it been getting dark closer and closer to the time I get home. I've looked over the bike light review page 2015 Bike Lights Shootout - Mtbr.com , but those are all out of my price range for what I want. I looked over the Chinese thread http://forums.mtbr.com/lights-night-...946724.htmland didn't see these listed.

Anyone have any experience with these two I found on Amazon.

u-Box Super Bright 900 Lumen Cree XM-L2 U2 Bike Headlight with Angel Eye
    u-Box Waterproof Cree 7 x T6 LED Bicycle Light

Also some mentioned these two:
    SecurityIng Waterproof 2800 Lumens XM-L U2
    Outdoor Waterproof 1600LM CREE XM-L T6 LED Headlamp

Either option better or worse?

I understand I can order from other sites and get stuff cheaper, but I'd like to have it sooner.

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    Any of those lights would be fine for a beginner. Though the lumen claims are false, they are still plenty bright. The only downside is that these cheap lights are cheap mainly by giving you a really crappy battery and charger. These cheap batteries don't last long (maybe a season in my experience). Also some of these cheap Chinese batteries have been known to catch fire while charging, so don't charge them if you're not home.
    2015 Niner Jet 9 Carbon
    2014 Focus Raven 27R
    2017 Lynskey GR250
    2016 Niner BSB
    1987 Haro RS1

mtbr member
    If you want a quality light that'll last, nashbar is doing 25% off their lights. I'd grab one of the nightrider 750's (about $75 after discount). USB charged, lithion ion battery, light weight, self contained (no external battery pack), good quality. I'm seriously contemplating getting one.