Is 5000 Lumens bright?- Mtbr.com
    Life Is Short

Is 5000 Lumens bright?

I went on eBay and bought a 5000 lumen flashlight or torch as they call it. Its pretty bright and actually brighter than my 8 year old lithium bike Cyglolite dual beam which was about $169 bucks back then.

I just ordered a flashlight handlebar holder for it, but the questions are:

1. Is 5000 lumens bright enough for trail riding
    2. Anyone use one of those $6 flashlight mounts?
    3. Is it better just to get another bike light, the 8-9 year old one
    really doesnt seem bright anymore but if a flashlight is just as bright why not?

Bicycle Mount Bike Front Flashlight Holder Torch Multi Function Clip Clamp | eBay

I am a serious novice and dont like going cheap on anything bike related
    because I believe you pay for what you get

thanks
    Cheap people buy things twice

mtbr member
    May 2005
    An ebay torch advertised as "5000" lumen might make 2000 at best. Not to worry that's still pretty bright. How much light you need for trail riding is very much up to you, the type of trail and terrain. For most folks use, 2000 lumen would be very sufficient. As important as lumen output, does the torch have a beam shape that works for you. Most torches have a pretty narrow spot type beam. For use on the handlebars most folks like a wider beam. It's very much a personal preference thing again.

A large torch is going to be pretty heavy. I'd be surprised if the mount you link would keep it aimed on any kind of rough trail.

Good bike lights are starting to come out now with neutral white LEDs. Most folks find neutral white tints to be easier on the eyes and give a more realistic view of the trail and surroundings than a cool white LED which is typical of torches. Good bike lights are designed to be on for long durations. Typical use for a torch is much more intermittent.