24hour race, lights?- Mtbr.com
    Loving Life

24hour race, lights?

Im tried the search button but couldn't find anything specific to my question so here goes

Im doing 2 24 hour races this year and Im looking for a helmet mounted light. I was wondering what a good amount of lumens is for a light. I dont need anything crazy bright but I want something that will work well and be bright enough. Im a student so Im looking to spend just under $200 ( if thats possible) and I was wondering if anyone has some recommendations? As well a burn time of at least 3hours would be good, and Im not extremely picky about the weight

Light freak
    Are any of these factors important to you when choosing a light?

1. - Size

2. - Weight

3. - Non proprietary batteries

4. - Customer service

5. - A light that is made by someone who uses their lights on an almost daily basis

and knows the importance of reliability and has the same passion for biking.

http://classifieds.mtbr.com/showprod...t=47753&cat=27

Loving Life
    would you recommend the spot or flood light if I was to run one on my helmet?

I was thnking to run just the flood, but not too sure

Light freak
    Looks like you are Canada. What is the terrain like? Fast or more technical trails? I am thinking heavily wooded? If so, flood should be the ticket. Here in Colorado and west where the terrain is somewhat more open, less dense, the spot is preferred.

mtbr member
    May 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by Trev
    would you recommend the spot or flood light if I was to run one on my helmet?

I was thnking to run just the flood, but not too sure