24 hrs of Colorado Springs-Need a light-Advice?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2011

24 hrs of Colorado Springs-Need a light-Advice?

I'm taking my Tallboy to Colorado Springs in Oct. to do the 24hr. race with a 4 man team.

I don't currently have a light and I'd like to get one anyway to do some local rides in the fall/winter.

I am looking for advice for a top tier lighting system (not looking to save money)

I want something durable, reliable, and battery life to last at least a 2 hour ride.

I'm also looking at feedback for a helmet mouted light vs. handlebar mounted. Perhaps I should get both and have lights that complement one another.

I have ZERO experience with this and I will be sifting through this forum for a while to get some ideas. It helps that I have 20/15 uncorrected vision and good night vision, but I NEED to be safe when I ride at night. I have good disability insurance, but not enough to make up for my loss of income if I get a significant arm or hand injury and can't work for a while.

THANKS!

Light freak

Characteristics of where you place the light –

Light on the bars – With the light being below your eyes, it produces “shadowing” of obstacles. The downside of the light being on the bars is the light is always pointed in the direction that you bars are pointed. Can be a problem on tight, twisty switch backs where you want to look around the corner. The other thing is having to make a repair in the dark with your light bar mounted. Almost have to remove it to get the light pointed where you need it