What type of connectors do you use?- Mtbr.com
    Carbon8er

What type of connectors do you use?

I have been building bike light battery packs for many years. When I first started, the only connector I could find was SAE connectors at a Radio Shack. There are great connectors, but it is hard to find cheap ones, and they seem to corrode after several years of off road riding.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Now I am looking into using different connectors. I just woke up and figured out that the RC world usues many different connectors and some look just like the ticket

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The Tamyia connectors supposedly are built cheap, like a molex computer connector.
    They are just crimped, but you can take them apart and solder the wires.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The Dean connectors look nice, but I don't like the exterior pins and the way the wires are soldered to the studs. There's not much to grab onto and pull apart and it looks like even with heat shrink around both wires, it may have wire stress issues.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trailtechs are nice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I am leaning towrds the Anderson Powerpoles because they can be joined together and the pins are all enclosed inside the housing. And you can buy packs of these is bulk fairly cheap.

Curious about what others use and opinions on different connectors.
    Last edited by El34; 05-06-2009 at 09:42 AM.

Go faster!
    Im going to try and use this for the battery connection to the light.