mtbr member
    Nov 2007

Reducing weight of alu lighthead

I would like to reduce the weight of this light towards 100gr. I will make the fins slightly deeper. That and making the back a little thinner could maybe save 10-15gr. I am considering to mill some slots straight trough the fins, perhaps two on either side of the switch (at 45, 135, 225 and 315dgr, 0 being up). It will shave off some weight, possibly improve air exchange and slightly reduce surface area.

Does anyone know of existing lights with such deep slots? It would be similar to the ones found at Magicshine, but as deep as the fins, 9mm. I would like to see what it would look like, and I am not very good at using CAD programs for visualization. How wide should they be?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Reducing weight of alu lighthead-r0011361.jpg  

Reducing weight of alu lighthead-r0011362.jpg  

Last edited by kmjelle; 01-29-2010 at 03:14 PM.

mtbr member
    May 2005
    The deeper fins will be fine. I have made most of my fins by cutting grooves that are 1.5 to 2mm wide and leaving 1.5mm for the fin thickness. That has worked well. One light I did had the grooves only 1 mm wide and the fins were 2mm thick. That light seems to not dissipate heat as well as my others, but still only requires very slight movement through the air to keep it under 50C. I usually make the wall thickness on my housings .5 to 2mm except on the surface the LEDs mount to. That I leave 4mm thick. I think I would be more inclined to mill flats on the sides instead of slots. There would be fewer cuts to make and no sharp edges. Don't remove too much area though in the quest for light weight. Allow 6.5 sq. cm per watt of LED for adequate heat dissipation.

mtbr member
    Nov 2007