Question about driving 1 XP-G- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2007

Question about driving 1 XP-G

I am having a hard time tracking this down but I am sure I have seen it somewhere. I am in the planning stages of setting up bar light and one of the components is going to be a 1up XP-G Star. I want to drive the star at a constant 700mA. Is there a way to achieve this without a driver? Can I put a resistor inline to make this happen.

Just some added information. The light will consist of two stars, a 1up XP-G and a 3up XP-G star. The 3up I plan to drive off of a b2flex with settings ranging from 350mA to 1000mA. As I said above I want to run the 1up XP-G at 700mA that will be controlled by a separate switch from the 3up.

I am planning on running a 14.8 or higher battery pack but I am open to having a separate supply for the single that would have a 3.7V battery driving it.

I am also wide open to suggestions here. This is my first build so I am learning from the ground up.

I am stoked about this project though!
    Sometimes your the windshield, other times just the bug. That's life. (c:
    Mountain Biking Apparel

mtbr member
    mmm ...it may be way easier solution to get a simple 700ma driver and run the 1 XP-G off the same battery.... example
    ..http://www.taskled.com/ccxw.html
    ...Scun.thorpe, UK

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    I was considering that as well, but it doesn't look like there are any CC5W drivers available. If I go this route I will probably use a BuckToot or something similar. I also thought about stripping out a MR16 XP-E light and using the driver out of it, I wouldn't get the mA that I want but the 1up is more of a back up and for use when climbing.
    Mountain Biking Apparel

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    Here's a good site that list many drivers. Just filter.

http://www.videofoundry.co.nz/ianman...driverlist.php

mtbr member
    Jan 2007