Newbie getting started- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2008

Newbie getting started

I like to DIY most things in my life, I have the tools, mill, etc. I would really like to make lights for myself and my kids who mountain bike. I can make the housing, bar mounts, helmet mounts, etc but i have no knowledge about which LED's to order, charger, electronics. I can solder and have made things with common electronics in the past. Are there any threads I'm not finding to help figure out what I need to order for LED's and electronics that go with them. There just seems to be so much to it. Thanks for any help you can give.

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    General consensus nowadays seems to be that 4500K is the ideal LED color temperature for cycling, whether road or mtb. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be any such emitters available powerful enough for solitary use in bike lamps, you’d have to go with multiple arrays and find corresponding optics/reflectors. OTOH Kaidomain now offers a CREE XHP70.2 M4 50G NEUTRAL WHITE 5000K HIGH CRI90 LED EMITTER which is in the ball park and likely the best you’ll find retail right now AFAIK. They even offer an optic to fit, preferable to a reflector which could cause ringing and tint shift.

Also on their site you can find bicycle mobile power boxes and chargers. And buried somewhere are Magicshine style 5.5MM X 2.1MM 20AWG male leads, though I couldn’t find them there at the moment. If you contact KD they’re sure to provide the proper link. Worse comes to worst, you could just order a few of their extension cables and cut off the female end for your lights.

For batteries, check out the Sanyos at the 18650 Battery Store.

Okay I know nothing about electronics in terms of driver boards, but Kaidomain offers those as well.

Am sure others here can give you much more complete and better info as to what might work for you, triathloner.

arc
    mtbr member
    Sep 2004