Need help - wiring a 3S2P with pcb.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2010

Need help - wiring a 3S2P with pcb.

I am currently looking into building a 3S2P with a pcb wired in. I am still new at this and have just put together a 2S1P using a pre-built 18650 holder with a pcb.

https://www.batteryspace.com/Battery...ong-20AWG.aspx

I am now looking to build a 3S2P to power a triple XM-L that will be fed a max of 1.2A. I am looking into the digikey 18650 holders and a pcb from batteryspace:

https://search.digikey.com/scripts/D...K-18650-PC6-ND
    https://www.batteryspace.com/pcbfor1...3s5alimit.aspx

The 18650 battery I will be using:
    https://www.batteryspace.com/Li-ion-...62Wh---LG.aspx

Now is it more reasonable to go with unprotected cells with a pcb wired in or should I just go with protected cells? What is the necessity of having the batteries balanced?

Here is a sketch of what I think would be the correct wiring for a 3S2P with a pcb wired in (of course the wiring will be a lot cleaner later on):

Thanks,
    Anthony

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    It would be better to use 2x 3S1P holders from Batteryspace and solder the outputs is parallel for a 3S2P config.
    CNC LED light housing for DIY projects

Do It Yourself
    I would forget the holder and just build a proper battery pack using unprotected cells wired to the pcb. Wiring is easy. Make three parallel pairs in series. Pcb connections at both ends and between the pairs. Heat shrink it when done. You will need a proper charger capable of handling 3s Li-Ion pack.
    Long Live Long Rides

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by zemike
    It would be better to use 2x 3S1P holders from Batteryspace and solder the outputs is parallel for a 3S2P config.
    I did look into that but it will be almost $30 for the holders and they also recommend not to solder 2 holders together.

Quote Originally Posted by Homebrew