My first homemade light- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

My first homemade light

Well I have been hanging around on here for a few months in which time I have bought a lathe, built my work bench, fried 2 maxFlex drivers, and made my first light!
    Here it is...

Its 4x XR-E with Carlco optics. 3 spots and one wide beam. I have set the driver to 1200mA max for the beam shots just so I can see if there is any difference between 1000mA and 1200mA. I had to cut away parts of the optic housings to allow for the LEDs to be soldered together. I think this may have spoilt the beam pattern. When I get my big camera charged I'll take some shots.

Have I gone overboard with the slug that the LEDs are attached to? At 1200mA the case warms up pretty quickly. Its a nice tight fit into the case, helped along with some thermal paste. I havent had it running for long as I have some battery issues which I'll get into later.

The driver is also thermally bonded to the slug, I found a nice piece of copper perfect for the job.

Oh yeah, my battery problems.
    Initially I had a 12v NiMh hooked up. The light turned on but I couldnt get any change in brightness. This battery measured 13.86v straight off the charger. When I measured the vf of the LEDs it was 12.68v. That equates to 3.17v per LED. That seems pretty low to me. I expected them to be around 3.7v. I didnt measure the current but the brightness was similer to the 1000mA setting.
    I hooked up a 7.2v NiMh that I had lying around, 8.44v fresh off the charger. I get all the 5 brightness settings this time. I dont want to have it on for too long as not to push the driver too hard.
    Can some tell me what is happening with the 12v battery! I understand that the maxflex needs Vin < Vout, but when the vf of a CREE is given at 3.7v, Vout should be @ 14.8v. Or have I messed up somewhere along the way???

Thanks to Trout for his assistance over on CPF and George from TaskLED for keeping me topped up with new drivers!