Making a Light Vs. Buying- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Making a Light Vs. Buying

The price of lights is so high, it has deterred me from riding at night. Many of my pals night ride and praise it to know end. They says how much I will love it, but I cannot risk $300.00 on the chance (my wife may go crazy if I do).

My question, how much would it cost to build a light set?
    How difficult is it?

I have patience. I have basic knowledge and can usually figure things out and follow instructions. I would need a light set that would pretty much burn for 1 1/2 hours I would like something for the bar and 1 for the helmet.

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    I think mine are going to run about $160 including tax and shipping and all parts including a battery charger. I won't know for sure until I get everything nailed down and I'm very close. Mine should last ~4 hours on a charge.

My reasoning was similar to yours, I want to night ride, do a 24 hour race, and don't want to spend $1000 on lights to make that happen. Anytime I'd priced commercial versions + extra batteries so I could do 24 hours (I figured 8 hours of darkness, plus 8 hours for a teammate as worst case) they came out to damn near $1000.

I think I will be able to get my 8 hours of run time and a helmet + bar light for less than $500.

mtbr member
    Jan 2009
    to answer your questions...
    cost:
    cost is really a function of your target light design (housing material, necessary tools, emmitter type/specification, power supply) in theory i could bang out a very simple single led light for a little under 40$ battery pack included using 1" square aluminum stock. i have a number of different set ups kicking around that i have built. some cheaper than others depending on; number of leds, driver used, extra hardware incorporated (switches, pots, resistors etc). which further illustrates cost is basically a function of design.

difficulty: