Make or Buy?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Make or Buy?

mtbr member
    Mar 2009

Make or Buy?

I'm thinking of buying a NiteRider MiNewt Mini-USB LED, but thought I should consider building a light if I can get something signicantly better for the same money. I've never built a light before, and don't have access to mills, drill presses, etc so I prefer to piece it together from somebody's plans using prefabed pieces like aluminum LED flashlights, etc. The size of the NR light and battery and price are selling points for me. Any suggestions and/or plans for builds? Is there another brand/option I should consider if I buy?

mtbr member
    Making lights is a lot of fun and you can do some cool stuff, however you will end up paying about the same as if you just went out and bought a light. By the time you buy all the glue, spare parts, flashlights, wires, fry a few drivers, soldering iron, batteries, chargers, pay for shipping, and all the time you spend researching the lights and waiting for parts from 10 different sources... it is cheaper just to buy something.

With that said... making lights is very fun and you can create something that is way better than that mini-usb thing (110 lumens). Check out the DIY Dinotte thread. If you have all the tools... you can build a couple of those for less than 50 bucks... with batteries, and they are about 2x as bright as the Mini -USB...

mtbr member
    Or skip the learning curve and get a kit. Still twice the Lumens for half the $. Click below and see what I mean. ~Chris

But will admit, maybe not as fun as starting from ground zero

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by sdnative
    Or skip the learning curve and get a kit. Still twice the Lumens for half the $. Click below and see what I mean. ~Chris

But will admit, maybe not as fun as starting from ground zero