How to replace the LEDs in my Yinding- Mtbr.com
    I like turtles

How to replace the LEDs in my Yinding

Looking to take on replacing the LEDs in my Yinding this winter. Love the little light, but I don't care for the color..too natural and doesn't match my SSX2 that I pair with it. The current LEDs in the Yinding are XM-L2 3B; I assume the SSX2 are XML U2. What specifically do I have to replace to change the LEDs?

Edit:

Do I buy these? CREE XM-L2 XML2 LED 14mm, 16mm, 20mm Base

Or do I buy just the LED itself?

CREE XM-L2 XML2 U3-1A LED 14mm, 16mm, 20mm Base

Help/advice for this upgrade appreciated!
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2018 Niner RKT 9 RDO - enduro AF

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Depends on your skills and what you want to do. It is possible to reflow the LEDs onto your existing board, but it is a little more difficult than replacing the board with new stars & is not something you do with a soldering iron.

You need to look at the physical dimensions of what you have first. I suspect 2 x 20mm stars will fit, but one issue will be the thickness of the board the leds are mounted on in your yinding - it affects the placement of the optics. Copper sinkpads are a nice touch if the thickness is not an issue.

In terms of Cree naming, there are three details, LED type, in this case XM-L2, the bin - which is how many lumens are emitted at a given current

Big assumption that your SSX2 are U2 bin - T5 or lower is more likely but it doesn't matter. The important aspect is getting the colour temperature correct.

Have a look at this chart & you will be able to find each of the options
    How to replace the LEDs in my Yinding-ansiwhite.jpg
    I would guess that your SSX2 leds are cool white in the region of 1A-1C

mtbr member
    May 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by find_bruce View Post
    BIG ASSUMPTION that your SSX2 are U2 bin - T5 or lower is more likely but it doesn't matter.
    Fixed this ^.