First time DIY Journal - Double Regina XPG & B2flex- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2008

First time DIY Journal - Double Regina XPG & B2flex

Hi MTBR! Back in October I had been reading around the intertubes, doing research on Magicshine lights. After stumbling upon the Lights DIY forum here on MTBR, I was infected by the ludicrous idea to build my own light.

A little background on myself. I'm 23 and halfway through a Mech. Eng. degree. While I feel I have a good understanding of how simple electrical circuits work, this is my first time ever using a soldering iron.

Anyways, after a week or so of intense researching, and another 3 weeks of waiting for parts (grr deal-extreme), everything finally arrived yesterday. I spent a few hours last night, and a few more hours this morning putting it all together. Here's a small overview of what I did. Any and all comments/criticism/questions welcome!

Part list:

Cree XP-G LED
    Regina Reflector
    Backlit Momentary Switch
    Hammond Aluminum Box
    5.4mm Extension Cable(100cm) (Magicshine spare cable)
    Y-Cable(for light head and battery power connections) (Magicshine y-cable)
    Li-Ion 18650 Battery Charger
    TrustFire Protected 18650 2400mAh x6
    Compact 6x 18650 Battery Holder (LuminousDIY)
    b2flex LED Driver (TaskLED)

Photo Journal:

The parts are finally all here! Some suppliers (Digi-key) arrived within 2 days. Others (DealExtreme) took ~3 weeks.

Literally my first solder connection....ever. I tell myself I just like learning new things, but maybe I'm foolish? :P

Battery pack all wired up. Later I wrapped the 2 power wires in electrical tape to tidy things up, and sealed all of the wire connections in epoxy. When I use it, there will be a velcro strap holding the battery cells in place. The entire assembly fits perfectly into a small (point and shoot) cloth camera bag.