DIY Light Newbie Help Please- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2009

DIY Light Newbie Help Please

H building
    Im new to building lights and could do with some advice please.
    First off any suppliers of components in the UK would be great especially batterys.
    Secondly could you please advise if i have got the right components for a 3 light system before i go ahead and order.
    1 off CNC style housing made by me
    1 off 3021-A-E-1000 External dimming Buckpuck driver
    1 off 3021-3023 wiring harness convertor
    3 off PWCO8 TFFC K2 Luxeon Star White 80 Lumen @ 350ma
    1 off 5K potentiometer
    Im unable to find a supplier who will ship a 18650 14.8v 4400 mah battery pack to the uk so any help here greatly appreciated.
    I have found a supplier who will ship single 25500 protected 5500ma 3.7v units but are these any use.
    Any assistance appreciated
    Thanks Mark

mtbr member
    My 2 cents; if you want to build something "advanced" w/ a CNC casing, I would look at something else than the K2 LEDs. 2 MC-Es would do an awesome job.

Also, you forgot to put some lenses for your LEDs!

Good luck!

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    2 MCEs it is then but supplier in uk please

mtbr member
    Now my 2 cents! I am in the UK and get my LEDs and optics from Cutter in Aus, my drivers from TaskLED in the states, switches from Rapidonline here and batteries and misc stuff from DX in China.
    I know you are looking for a UK supplier, I tried that too but had no luck. IMHO you can't beat taskled for the drivers and I have never had a problem with Cutter this year.
    I've just finished building a dual MC-E light today and it's silly bright!
    Good luck with your build!

mtbr member
    Hey dadandlad, welcome to the crazy house ...
    as piesoup says, take a look here,

http://www.cutter.com.au/products.php?cat=Cree+XPG

139 lumens at 350ma
    ...and here for drivers

http://www.taskled.com/
    ...Scun.thorpe, UK

mtbr member