Critique my Light Design- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2008

Critique my Light Design

Greetings oh gurus of the LED light. Newbie here from VA, USA that has been infected with MultiXledluminitis.

What do you all think of the light I'm considering building?

It's an 8 XPE run in 4S2P configuration using 1.5" square tubing.

I'm planning to use an 18V LiIon battery from my cordless Milwaukee impact wrench. It's labeled as 50Wh which I calculate to be 2777mah. The driver is planned to be a 1000ma 3023 buckpuck to keep the wiring simpler. This should yield 500ma through each LED.

Power connector and switch is still tbd, but not critical to the design.

I'm guessing somewhere around 900 lumens, but will it be enough surface area to dissipate the heat? I've considered cutting shallow grooves in the body (only 1/8" thick) to increase surface area some.

The main heat sink is 3/4" thick square of alum that will be an interference fit in the body.

Any input is appreciated.

ndrordr

mtbr member
    It will certainly be bright .
    I am glad you are leaving the middle on out shame you cant have a hole down the middle
    for extra cooling . you may need it ,
    I would say give it a go and if it overheats then you can allways add some fins from memory heatsinks .
    You have a big buffer in there but it needs to be able to shed the heat fast .

mtbr member
    Dec 2008
    Thanks for the input Troutie. I was planning to use the center position for the wire pass-through, but I could possibly fit a piece of 1/4" alum tube through the center with a hole in the front cover and rear cover to get some air flow through the center. There's not quite enough room for a 3/8" tube with the buckpuck in there.

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    The light on the left is 1/8 wall with small cuts made in it with a table saw. It does get fairly warm when running.
    The light on the right gets just a little warm.