3 Reginas in 47mm case, or...?- Mtbr.com
    Basura Blanca
    Jan 2004

3 Reginas in 47mm case, or...?

Relative DIY newbie here. Been waffling between a 2- or 3-XPG setup in a Hammond 1455 case, and have settled on the triple since I won't have to push them so hard and will still get more light. Gonna be a helmet mount, so I'd really like to use the 1455C802, which is 47mm interior width. Next step up looks to be the 1455J1201 at 70mm, which is getting kinda big for a helmet. So, can I shave enough off of each Regina (ala scar and odtexas) to squeeze them in and still get a decent throwy beam? Or is there a smaller form factor lens that I could use for the center that wouldn't give me too much foreground spill? Suggestions? FWIW, I'll be running my MS on the bars, probably w/ some sort of diffusing lens to get rid of the hot spot. Thanks guys!
    - Joe
    We rejoice in our suffering, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character.

A waste of time it is is
    why not turn the box sideways and drill three holes into one face, one for each regina? You should still have enough depth working across the box to get in a "fire wall", controller and switches etc etc.

The build might be a little more difficult but I think the beam pattern will benefit. FWIW I think the regina is still to wide a beam for my likings as a helmet light. Lots of light and nice smooth beam but just too wide for me to get really excited. Even though those beam shots in the other threads don't look too bad, I can't but help think trimming the end off a regina will only make the pattern wider than it already is. I obviously haven't tried so am only expressing an opinion on this.

mtbr member
    May 2010
    It's quite a lot to take off each one to get them to fit? I found the regina quite fragile and managed to delaminate the reflective coating quite easily, although that might just be me being heavy handed.

Basura Blanca
    Jan 2004