Views on '08 Dakar XC??- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2009

Views on '08 Dakar XC??

I just brought home an '08 left over from my LBS, a Jamis Dakar XC in 19". This was an upgrade from the DB Response I had previously, and can't tell you how much more I like this bike!

I just wanted to hear some of your opinions on this bike. I am rather new to the sport, but used to ride a ton when I was in my teens. It's been a good 10yrs since I have rode regularly and am now trying to get back into it. I am 28yrs old, 6' tall and 195lbs if that helps. I mainly ride trails around my area, which are known to be pretty intense. I do like to hit the occasional small jump, but no big 20ft+ gaps in my near future.

Just wanted to hear overall thoughts on the bike, like what are it's strong points and what would be the first thing to upgrade if and when the time comes. I am very happy with my purchase and can't wait to log up some miles on my new baby!

May 2009
    Hey!

Joined the forums because of this thread!

I bought an 08 dakar xc about a month ago... also moving from a DB response sport.

I love my dakar... the only thing that concerned me at first was the weight, but the response was a pretty hefty bike as well.

I upgraded my fork to a fox f-100 RL and got rid of the "FPD" pedals that came on it.

I love it and would ride every day if it wasn't for the rain. Not sure how long it will last me though since I am really liking it and might move up next season.

mtbr member