Adding Avid Disc Brakes On X1?- Mtbr.com

Apr 2009

Adding Avid Disc Brakes On X1?

I recently purchased a 2 month only Jamis Trail X1. Wish i had the option of paying $65 more for the X2. I upgraded on a new bike seat, and my new Marzocchi MZ Supercomps 120mm forks are on there way here to replace the factory forks. My next modification/upgrade will be adding disc brakes, with little cost as possible. I'm new in the bike world, so i'll need some help and verification, whether or not this will work.

I was told i will either need to replace the entire wheel or replace the hubs to add the discs.
    Calipers in the front will be mounted on the new forks. But the calipers on the back will need an adapter, correct? This is where i'm stuck and don't know which adapter to buy. The disc brakes im interested in buying at 160mm Avid BB-7s.

The hubs i've decided to buy are
    http://www.sjscycles.co.uk/product.a...S&currency=USD
    Here are the Adapters
    http://aebike.com/page.cfm?action=de...=30&SKU=BR2620

If i can find a cheap wheel that can save me from rebuilding the wheels i have using Hubs, then i'll buy them but i can't seem to find a pair of wheels for under $100.

My budget is tight. Can you guys let me know if the hubs and adapters i chose will work?

Here is the link the my bike.
    http://www.jamisbikes.com/usa/thebik...ilx1_spec.html

NVM, I FIGURED IT OUT. I NEED 22 MM ADAPTERS FOR THE REAR AND I FOUND A WHEELSET FOR $100. THANKS ANYWAYS.
    Last edited by BlackTiger; 05-25-2009 at 03:39 PM.

Jun 2009
    Where did you find a 22mm adapter to use with newer Jamis bikes, I've hit the same snag on my X1 adding a Forte mechanical disk setup. I've found some adapters but they all seem to be compatable with older Jamis frames and I wasn't sure if they would work for my application.

Apr 2009

Jun 2009