Winter commuting question- Mtbr.com
    Music & Bikes

Winter commuting question

My winter commuter is a Shimano IGH bike , SG8R36.
    Snow and ice is packing up in the shifting mechanism and freezes the system. I always had that problem with Shimano , anybody have a genius idea how to avoid this ? (beside buying a Rohloff)

I tried a couple of DIY "cover" over the system but they were either not good at isolating or rubbing against other parts .......

Ideas ?
    "There is a big difference between kneeling down and bending over" -FZ

mtbr member
    Perhaps something like the wet weather cassette joint will help:
    http://cascadeclimbers.com/gear/gene...tte-Joint.html

Tim

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    When I started riding in the winter I had the same problem. Originating from a cold bike being moved inside at night, then in the morning the wet parts would freeze, affecting the cables. Before I purchased a nice shed for the bike I would carry a pocket-size bottle of WD40 in my pocket, spraying it before I rolled out and mid-way if the cables started to freeze. If you cannot displace the water with WD40 then you should cover the parts with a synthetic grease that covers the cable housing holes that water can enter.

Now that I store my bike in the same temperature that I ride I have eliminated the problems associated with frozen cables and linkage; clean and properly lubed parts help tremendously as well.

Music & Bikes
    Quote Originally Posted by Wombat
    Perhaps something like the wet weather cassette joint will help:
    http://cascadeclimbers.com/gear/gene...tte-Joint.html

Tim

Bingo !
    I'll try that

SpartyBiker:
    I can bring the bike inside at my place but not where I go.

Music & Bikes
    From what I see here , the difference between the 20 and the 40 models is just the rubber thing over the exposed cable , it doesn't change the fact that the "system" itself is exposed the ice/snow.