mtbr member

NuVinci in Chapter 11

Don't know how this will work out. Fallbrook – NuVinci Announces Chapter 11 Bankruptcy Proceedings

Let's hope they make it. I've been hoping for a suitably light version for quite a few years.
    As little bike as possible, as silent as possible.
    Latitude: 5736' Highlands, Scotland

mtbr member
    I was hoping, too, but then they seemed to focus their efforts on the ebike market where weight wasn't as much of an issue.

I've had a few Nuvinci hubs. I loved it at first, but I had one too many warranty issues, and eventually switched to the Alfine 8. The Nuvinci was improving in weight and gear range, but I still successfully broke a couple, and I decided to switch. I haven't regretted it, but I had been considering putting together an e-bike with one.

mtbr member
    Jul 2015
    They appear to have sold the bike division to a dutch company, though it is listed as a division.
    out of bankruptcy/"reorganization" as of 6/28
    Parts have gotten hard to find.
    Listed but "Out of stock" everywhere online save for gears
    They have announced a new line, but what that will do for parts/service/warrantee of older stuff remains to be seen. Big issue may be cables and their proprietary internal fluid and seals.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Whazzat View Post
    They have announced a new line, but what that will do for parts/service/warrantee of older stuff remains to be seen. Big issue may be cables and their proprietary internal fluid and seals.
    Unless theres been a change in later models, cables have been standard cables, nothing you need to go through Nuvinci for. And I dont think they ever sold their fluid or seals. They just serviced the hubs themselves if needed. Not that thats a better situation. It still means that unless the new company steps up, all existing hubs are going to become junk if they fail. Fortunately a lot of people have found them to be reliable and maintenance-free.

mtbr member