Boise tires- Mtbr.com

Thread: Boise tires

mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Boise tires

Looking for new tires to run in the foothills and velodrome.

Planning on Maxxis Ardent or High rollers. Anyone like those for our area?

Tired of goatheads. I would like to go ghetto tubeless with sealant. One of the LBS just wanted to sell me expensive slime tubes. What's the opinion around here for tubeless or tubes?

I have a new Nevegal, but I hear they don't go tubeless very well. Should I run it, or sell it?

Thanks

mtbr member
    You should not have any problems with the nevegals, they are a good tire, although they do weigh a bit. No tire is goathead proof either. I run tubless on my NRS Air with nevengals and tubes on my reign and cant really tell the difference (im no professinal though). In the foothills you can run whatever tire you want really, just pick a tire size that is suitable for your bike. Just depends on the ridng you will favor towards.

Neither setup of tubless or tubes is going to make you a better rider or help avoid goatheads so stick what you have unless you feel other wise. I have been rubbing baby powder on my tubes when installing them. i have been doing these sense i was a in elementary school and it really does help when running a lower tire pressure and helps avoid pinch flats. I do this with my dirt bikes and mountain bikes and have yet to have tube problems. Also slime tires are not a bad idea, they have saved me a few times while out riding although seems more people prefer the stans sealent, i have just not tried it.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    Since I cant seem to avoid goatheads, I figure I have to run sealant. If I'm running sealant anyway, I might as well save weight and go tubeless. I've always used baby powder in MX, and bikes as well. I've never had a pinch flat... ever...

Anyway, maybe I'll put the nevegal on the front, but I still need something on the back.

Back of the pack fat guy
    Jan 2004