Anyone in Missoula?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2011

Anyone in Missoula?

I just moved to Missoula and I don't know anyone around here, nor do I know any of the trails near here. I'm looking for someone to show me around or someone to hang out with. And I definitely need someone to show me the bars... I'm living downtown so if anyone's near that could help me out that would be awesome! Thanks.

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    a good place to start would be Patty Canyon or the Rattlesnake... Patty is pretty short but you can do a lot of loops, and the Rattlesnake has plenty to offer... also there are some reviews ... http://trails.mtbr.com/cat/united-st...S_4560crx.aspx

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    I'm new to Missoula as well... looking to cover quite a bit of ground this next season. The Rattlesnake is awesome, you just have to get in a ways past the "disneyland" of the main TH. Sawmill/Curry Gulch is a great area, as is Pattee Canyon. Most of the trails in these areas are complex networks, so every ride can be different.

Some epic climbs here as well, Sentinel/University Beacon, Miller Peak, Blue Mountain.

Check out http://www.williammartin.com/node/2128 for some good info, browse around... read Bill's blog... And if you are really fit and adventurous, there is a Thursday Night Ride group here as well... I haven't been out with them yet, but it is on my list. http://thursdaynightmtbr.org/

They are mostly hiking or snow biking right now... I've been too busy building a new bike and trying to do enough (road) riding to stay in shape. I think it will be an epic riding year!
    For me, riding bikes is not a hobby, it is a way of life.
    http://natureofmtness.blogspot.com

M_S
    mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    Lots of snow on the ground right now, obviously, so the trails aren't apt to open up until april.

Blue Mountain tends to dry out at least a few weeks before everything else, so it's good for an early season dirt fix.
    - Simon

mtbr member