mtbr member
    Sep 2004

Stem change from 100mm to 120mm...handling difference?

I have been riding my Mojo for 2 months now and loving every minute of it. Just in case I was missing out on any mojo goodness I took the bike to an expert on setting people up on bikes and he made a few changes in my position on the bike.

He moved the seat forward 1cm or so and changed the stem to a 120mm (I had a 100mm on there).

The bike feels great as usual but I was wondering if the 120mm stem will affect my handling in any way????

I love to do long hard climbs and fast descents.

Will I have as much control on the ascent / descent?? Is there much of a tradeoff?

Thanks for any info.

Founder: Dirty3hirties
    The longer stem should make the front end twitchier on the descents, quicker on twisty singletrack and easier to keep the nose down on steep climbs. Since you moved the seat fwd as well, you're gonna have more a fwd weight bias.

My preference is to have the shortest stem possible to clean all the climbs because on the descents which is wear all the fun is, is much better with a shorter stem. I think most people run a 90 mm stem for "trailbike" riding. Some even have shorter 60-70 mm stems, especially if they're running 160 forks.

If you haven't ridden the bike yet with this set up, try it....maybe you might like it. If you find that it's a little too sketchy on the DH's but you like the 120 stem for overall "fit", then you can also try raising the handlebar a little higher to change your weight bias, and/or get a wider bar (i like 27") to help slow down the steering a bit on the descents.

Anytime. Anywhere.
    IMO a 120 has no place on a mtb. Get the shortest that you feel comfortable with. Long stem = otb.

http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=311026
    I got some bad ideas in my head.

mtbr member
    Sep 2007