mtbr member
    Oct 2008

Rear Derailleur Adjustment

I've read a few articles but can't seem to figure it out. The rear derailleur is off by one sprocket. I can only get to the second biggest cog and when I'm in the smallest cog the shift pod has room for one more downshift. Can someone help me out on this? I have SLX group by the way.

Thanks

Dropshot Champ!
    your high and low adjustments are off. Also called limit screws. They are the little screws in the rear derailleur.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nTpzUXVXaww

^there ya go.

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    I checked those and they are fine.

Dropshot Champ!
    I'm no expert, but if my bike were doing exactly what you said it is doing, it would have to be a limit screw problem, unless your d-hanger is bent. But even then, you can sometimes tune around that.

If you can't get into your biggest cog, and have one click left over when you're in your smallest cog, your limits are off..

aka dan51
    If limit screws are correct then:
    -shift to smallest cog
    -disconnect shifter cable from der
    -pull slack out of cable with your hand and reconnect to der
    -use the fine tune barrel adjuster on the shifter to fine tune alignment. I usually dial this most of the way IN before reconnecting the cable to the rear der.

Rear ders are not rocket science but can be overwhelming when you first start messing with them. The basic setup from scratch is:
    -set limit screws. L screw should be set so the pulley wheel lines up directly with the biggest cog. H screw should be set so the pulley wheel lines up just slightly outside (away from wheel) of the smallest cog.
    -shift shifter to smallest cog
    -pull cable tight by hand and connect to der
    -adjust barrel thing on shifter until the pulley wheel is lined up with the smallest cog.

aka dan51
    Quote Originally Posted by redmr2_man