to Mary owners- Mtbr.com

Thread: to Mary owners

Jul 2006

to Mary owners

hi everyone!

My christmas gift to myself would be a Haro mary. This is my question to you owners and to those who have experience with it.
    Basically, i'm stuck between the SS and the XC. I can't test ride one either because the distirbutors here don't stock them . It would take at least a month for a bike to get here if i requested it.

So i'll put it terms of expense to decide, my question would be..
    what would be cheaper to convert to geared/ss? (i may buy the SS but may eventually want gearing, i may buy the xc but may opt to have it SS in the future)

and since i'm new to the 29er world and there are only a handful in my country that belong to that group...

Would you take the rigid and probably buy a suspension fork in the future? or the the exact opposite?

Right now i'm more inclined to the SS because of it being SS (maybe i just want to get back to the roots of biking), the mary bars, and the nice ginger color. I plan to use it as a commuter, trainer, and for trails (basically an all around bike sans the jumps, DH, and freeride stuff). If the trails get tougher, i'd use my x6.

PS: i'm only a student (i use my own money for my hobbies FYI), thats why i'm asking all the penny saving questions.

mtbr member
    Whether you should go with the XC or SS boils down to personal preference. Have you ever ridden a singlespeed? It's a kick in the pants, but it's not for everyone. I'd say the majority of people I know that have tried it for the first time get hooked, but there are a few people who just don't get it and/or don't like it.