mtbr member
    Apr 2016

Does the new AOS system have the creak problem of the iDrive?

Hello everyone, I have been searching through this forum and I haven't found the answer yet. I've been looking into possibly buying a GT sensor but I'm concerned about the "dreaded creak " Ive read about that GT had on the idrive system. And for what it's worth I am very new to the sport of mountain biking so bear with me if this is a ridiculous question

So my question is, is this an issue on the revised AOS system?. Or simply put, are there any chronic problems or reasons to avoid a GT with the new AOS system? Thank in advance.
    Last edited by thecelt; 05-02-2016 at 03:02 PM.

mtbr member
    What creak? I have a 2014 and I hear nothing and I have never had to service the bike? Not seen it mentioned in here either.

mtbr member
    Jan 2015
    "dreaded creak"? News to me; and I researched the hell out of this new bike before I bought it. Googled until I could google no more.

Are we talking about the new AOS system, or the idrive? They're two totally different things.

Granted, I've only had my Helion for about a month now but have been riding it steadily and heard nothing. I love the way he suspension feels. Much better than my old FSR.

mtbr member
    Apr 2016
    From what I was reading, people refer to it as the dreaded creak and it was on the iDrive system. I'm curious if that is something that continued to the AOS or if it was remedied.

If you search this forum for the term "creak" there are alot of results. There are threads on the first page of this forum talking about how to fix it. It seemed to be somewhat of a chronic problem GT had with the idrive system, and i was hoping it was not an issue on the AOS as ive been looking at the Sensor.

I just edited my original post to be more clear. Im basically asking if that same issue carried over from the idrive to the new AOS system.

mtbr member
    Apr 2016