CUSTOM 90's GT MTN "budget" ebay build with prices - Awesome!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

CUSTOM 90's GT MTN "budget" ebay build with prices - Awesome!

Hello,

I am a BMX transfer and a lifelong GT fan...I wanted to build a MTN/Road bike so I bought an old school 90's GT frame and started from there. Originally this was supposed to be built on a limited budget (like $500 bucks haha) and things escalated from there.

Below you'll find the breakdown and final pics. I know I spent too much on it (so easy on the "you could’ve/should've" comments). I probably could've bought a much nicer bike for the money I spent, but I got what I wanted with this build so I'm ok with it...the prices are included for any other noobs who are thinking about building a bike from scratch - if you buy a complete used bike to start with your money will probably go a lot further.

My goal was continuity throughout and I think for the most part I achieved that.

*This is my first build - keep that in mind and go easy on me *

Thanks for looking!

Parts and Prices (including shipping) - new unless otherwise stated (all except seat from ebay)

2 - 90's GT (Avalanche?) frames - $105
    Custom GT decals (3 sets) - $17.50
    Ritchey Straight handle bars with GT locking grips - $27
    Origin-8 bar ends - $15
    GT seat post bolt - $9
    Rear Derailleur Hanger - $18
    Kona XC/AM stem - $17
    Cane Creek Aeroheat 26" MTB wheel set, Specialized FATBOY tires, SRAM 8sp cassette, and skewers (used) - $202.50
    Drivetrain package - SRAM SX-5 Rear Derailleur and Shifters with Shimano Alvio Front Derailleur - $60
    3 - Headset spacers - $5
    GT quick release seat bag (old school) - $18
    White Brothers SC70XC fork (used) - $122
    ITM Four Alloy Seat post (used) $12.50
    2 - Catamount CatCages $16.50
    Bontrager Big Earl platform pedals - $40
    FSA Orbit MX headset - $30
    Origin-8 MTN Crankset - $55.50
    Origin-8 URBAN PRO Saddle - $28