mtbr member
    Aug 2015

New question here. Advice for upgrades: 2012 GT Sensor 3.0 9r

This is my first post here, as I'm new to MTB'g. I have picked up a used 2012 GT Sensor 3.0 9r, all stock. Overall, I really like the bike. I grew up on dirt bikes (now 45 years old), so I really wanted full suspension. I mainly ride singletrack, rocky stuff (Austin TX area). I'm "fluffy" at 255 lbs.

I know I need to upgrade the suspension, but my more immediate concern is what I believe to be a bent right side crank. When I really get on it, the crank hits the swing-arm. I want to go ahead and replace with a new crankset and BB. There seem to be 8 million options and terminology that I just don't get yet. So, anyone willing to give me a few recommendations of the exact crankset/bb that I need? I'd like to upgrade the front derailleur while I'm at it. Back too maybe. I hate the squeaky brakes too!

Open to any other recommendations/suggestions on what parts to change out on this bike.

Many thanks in advance.
    Paul

mtbr member
    I would install a XT crankset.

mtbr member
    Aug 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by cbj2012 View Post
    I would install a XT crankset.
    Thanks CBJ. There are numerous XT cranksets, and I guess that's my problem, I don't know how to identify which one I need, which one's fit. My current is a 3 ring. Is it ok to go to a 2 ring? Do I get a 165mm, 170mm, 175mm or 180mm? Can I vary off of stock on sprocket counts? Do I get a sealed BB or threaded?

I realize I sound like an idiot. I can tear down a dirt bike and split the cases, but know zero when it comes to bicycles and the real specifics like replacing a crank, bb, derailleur, etc. Feel free to PM me any direct links to specific cranksets if you wish. I don't mind doing the research, which I've done, I just can't seem to figure out some of the things mentioned above.

mtbr member
    Number of rings depends on what you like. If you are a big guy get 3 rings.