mtbr member
    Aug 2017

2003 GT Avalanche 3.0.... Give me some good upgrade ideas!!!

What's up everybody? I am currently riding a 2003 GT Avalanche 3.0 and I am new to the MTB full world, and as I look around through this site, I find I am WAY out of tune with the MTB world.

Been riding this bike since 2003, where I weighed in at 170lbs... bike was dope then! I now weigh in at 260lbs, and notice I put a lot more stress on the bike.

Frame seems pretty solid, but wheelset sucks. Bad thing is, I am not wanting to spend an arm and leg on wheels, so hopefully there is something out there better than the stock set, for $150 or less. I researched, but can only find wheelsets with disc brake mounts, which seems to be wide than the 100mm I have(unless I am wrong)

Please let me know your thoughts.

TIA

mtbr member
    Aug 2017
    Here's the bike...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sneaker man
    yeah finding 26inch non disc wheels is gunna be hard, at least good + not expensive.
    All the gear and no idea.

mtbr member
    Aug 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by mik_git View Post
    yeah finding 26inch non disc wheels is gunna be hard, at least good + not expensive.
    What I noticed though was the disc wheels are 135mm. Correct me if I'm wrong. Bad thing is, I am 100mm wide forks therefore I can't even slap it there and use v-brakes.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by bigdrowe View Post
    What I noticed though was the disc wheels are 135mm. Correct me if I'm wrong. Bad thing is, I am 100mm wide forks therefore I can't even slap it there and use v-brakes.

The standard dropout width was 135mm rear, 100mm front. That's what your bike has, and what most bikes had in that era.

The hub width doesn't have anything to do with what brakes you use, unless I'm missing your question.

Sent from my XT1049 using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    Check these out. These guys build strong wheels that have lasted me a long time in the past.