NOOB - using Garmin watch "race an activity" function - best display for data- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

NOOB - using Garmin watch "race an activity" function - best display for data

How are you using your Garmin watch to push for faster times when racing against your previous rides or a course you have downloaded?

I've been using a Garmin Fenix 5x for 6 months and have been using it to improve my speed on my training loops. The watch has a built in function called "race an activity" which allows me to select one of my routes or recent rides to race against. It's pretty nice.

Unfortunately, the stock watch face for this leave a bit to be desired IMHO. It shows the time ahead/behind on the top in a small font, some cheesy graphic of two bikes to show if you are ahead or behind, and an estimate time to finish.

Garmin Virtual Partner display

I found "Peter's (Hi Vis) Pacer which adds a nice feature...
    your ahead/behind time is big and highlighted in green if ahead and red if behind. This is a good reminder for me to pedal harder.
    Further, you can configure the number and type of data fields shown. In my case, I set it up to show my ahead/behind on the top half, distance remaining in the lower left corner, and heart rate in the lower right corner. I'm going to try it out on my next ride and see if it works as desired.

customized Peter's (Hi Vis) Pacer

I'm interested in hearing what other are using and hope this helps for anyone looking for similar information.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails NOOB - using Garmin watch "race an activity" function - best display for data-img_0596.jpg  

NOOB - using Garmin watch "race an activity" function - best display for data-img_0595.jpg  

Sneaker man
    I used it a couple of times on my old f610 a few times when running, but couldn't see me using it on a watch when mtbing, i'd probably crash if I looked at it.
    All the gear and no idea.

mtbr member