HRM monitor that isn't a PITA ...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2006

HRM monitor that isn't a PITA ...

I gave up on HRMs almost 20 years ago, because the current state of the art (Polar chest HRM) were inaccurate, finicky about perspiration, unreliable, and in general a royal PITA. Have things gotten better? If so, any particular recommendations? Are Fitbit, wristband stuff ready for prime time? A Wahoo Element Bolt is in my future if that is a factor. Thanks in advance for your insights!

mtbr member
    Apr 2018
    I use a Wahoo Tickr when I wear the HRM. I don't always wear it on trails or around town - mostly on the Road Bike. I've had it about 16 months and it is working very well.

mtbr member
    I've been using the same Garmin HR strap since 2010 and it's been bulletproof. The only issue is when it's cool, dry and I haven't started sweating yet. The pads don't make good contact with the skin. Rubbing a little water/spit into the pads solves that. This is the old, non-"Deluxe" strap. The Deluxe had issues due to poor contact between the removable pod and strap. New Deluxe works well.

About 6 mo ago I got an optical arm band sensor, Scosche Rhythm 24, which records so I can use it for workouts in the gym or otherwise. It's been working very well and reliably. Personally, I find the chest strap a bit less obtrusive than the arm band. Few optical sensors work well with vibration and movement. I know Polar has been weird in the past, but their new optical sensor, OH-1 Plus, is supposed to be very good. Check review:

https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2019/03/...th-review.html
    What, me worry?

since 4/10/2009