Help with sweat and phone mount- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Help with sweat and phone mount

I'm pretty new at having anything electronic on my bike. There are a few good apps so I don't get lost on new trails, so I figured I'd get my phone mounted to my mtb and give it a go.

Fast forward to today. I went on my first ride with it. The mounting was great. No issues there. The software worked great as well. The big issue was sweat. My gloves had big issues working the screen (they are ones that are designed to do that), esp. once they were wet with sweat. I even had issues when I was going up and down hills because when in those positions, my head was in a position above the phone and sweat would occasionally drip onto the phone at which point, it would go into some crazy electronic seizure until I cleaned it off. I managed to get it somewhat working if I kept one hand bare to be able to work the screen when I occasionally needed to.

It was a hot, humid day with temps in the mid 90s, and I understand these aren't ideal circumstances for a smart phone, let alone strapping it to an mtb.

Are there any tricks to making it work better, sort of not taking it out in such hot conditions? Do people not use smartphones for nav?

Thanks for any help!

Not a role model
    To answer you last question, I wouldn't dare mounting anything valuable to the top of my handlebars, considering how often my bike gets flipped its front wheel, maybe from trying to rolling steep verticals, or just for maintenance. Already did hundreds of USD of dmg to gadgets this way.

Used nav the other day, relying on audible turn-by-turn alerts, to get to the trailhead itself through backroads. Left the phone in my pocket for the most part though.

If I had an issue with touch screens, I'd be tempted to just cut the fingertip(s) off my glove.

mtbr member
    Oct 2015