GPS for the Tour Divide

Printable View

• 01-21-2011
    FNFAL
    GPS for the Tour Divide
    Hello,

I have been entertaining the idea of getting a GPS and using it during the Tour Divide this summer. I am completely new to this, but I have found Divide routes online that I can download for a GPS unit. However, I'm a little foggy as to where to start looking for an actual GPS.

Could someone please point me in the direction of a good unit, preferably AA or AAA batteries, that I can start researching? Thanks.
  • 01-22-2011
    slocaus
    Quote:

Originally Posted by FNFAL
    Hello,

I have been entertaining the idea of getting a GPS and using it during the Tour Divide this summer. I am completely new to this, but I have found Divide routes online that I can download for a GPS unit. However, I'm a little foggy as to where to start looking for an actual GPS.

Could someone please point me in the direction of a good unit, preferably AA or AAA batteries, that I can start researching? Thanks.

Start with the sticky at the top of this forum.
  • 01-22-2011
    FNFAL
    I read it. I understand it. I'll have a SPOT GPS unit for the race so my folks and friends can track my progress.

However, I'm looking for a good GPS that tells me where I'm going and where I am while out and about in the wilderness.
  • 01-22-2011
    Boney
    I'm just starting to figure it out, but I'll likely be using a Garmin Vista HCx. It seems to be one of the preferred units for longer multi day events like the TD despite being a slightly older model. It uses AAs. I believe that the bikepacking.net forums contain some discussions of GPS units with a focus on the Tour Divide.
  • 01-22-2011
    FNFAL
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Boney