Do I need this? Garmin Edge 520 (I think)- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Do I need this? Garmin Edge 520 (I think)

My neighbor walked over looking for the new bike (don't ask) and plopped this little thing on my hand. He said to check it out , see if I like it and we'll talk then.

I don't know anything about bike computers, pure GPS devices, or anything similar. I know my phone and use Strava to track my ride and record (or inform me) of distance, elevation gain, BPM, etc. I have't felt there was more to be had. Probably because I don't know if there is more to be had.

So what could I gain from using this device over what I'm using now? What won't it do?

Do I need this? Garmin Edge 520 (I think)-garminrear-large-.jpgDo I need this? Garmin Edge 520 (I think)-garminfront-large-.jpg

Bikesexual
    Lol I just picked one up from Amazon. I'm new to GPS as well but for me it was a cleaner cockpit, and hoping to start adventuring in the near future. Also not always having to carry your phone will be nice.

I had an additional phone line just for riding, and had a Quadlock mount on my bars for my main bikes. So I will save a few bucks too in the long run.

I set it up last night, and hopefully I can ride this week.

The experts will tell you the "real" benefits, but I'm happy I made the move.

Edit: I was sold on the 130 but I paid only $5 more in Amazon for the more robust 520.
    Surly Krampus
    All City MMD
    Kona Unit

mtbr member
    Do you mount your phone on your bars? If so the garmin is much smaller and less prone to damage, and if not it's kind of nice in some circumstances to have data available while rolling.

IMO if the price is right you definitely need it.
    I brake for stinkbugs

since 4/10/2009