Cheap Bike Computer vs Phone Apps- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2020

Cheap Bike Computer vs Phone Apps

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie to riding, and have just purchased my first MTB. There's a wishlist of accessories that I have, although I'm trying to keep it real rather than spend recklessly out of excitement for the new hobby I'm about to embark upon.

I would like to add some sort of tech to monitor speed, distance and a few other basic bits of feedback, and am considering a CHEAP bike computer, such as this one:

https://www.99bikes.com.au/azur-12z-...-bike-computer

But I find myself wondering if a mobile phone might serve a similar purpose for basic functions.

For example if I use the WAZE street navigation app, that detects speed via GPS. maybe that will be sufficient. It works OK in the car.

I also have a Garmin Vivoactive 3 sports watch, where I could manually set a new exercise to track my distance travelled. Another potential plus for the Garmin, coupled to the Garmin Connect app, is that I can monitor my heart rate in real time from the phone screen.

Something that might be handy, and which the phone may not do, is an odometer, to keep a track of overall distance (may be good for servicing schedules), which the cheap bike computer does have (although I dont know if it has a battery for memory backup if it goes flat)

I would prefer not to have two devices on my cockpit, so I'm not sure if there is a 'one phone app solution to rule them all' approach. That said, I don't have a lot of $$ to spend on Garmin cadence sensors, HRMs or other accessories, so maybe the trade off for price is that I will need to go for two devices.

What are your thoughts ? And are there some other considerations that I'm missing ?

mtbr member
    I'd use the Vivoactive and Garmin Connect with the Strava app. Aside from in-ride info you'll get a ton of interesting data that will accumulate for as long as you use the app.
    I brake for stinkbugs

mtbr member
    May 2020